Nobilo joins Holden NZ Open television team

BY | Australasian PGA Tour | 2005 New Zealand Open | General | 03 Feb 2005
No Image

Frank Nobilo, one of the country’s most respected golfers, is back home for next week’s Holden New Zealand Open.

The US-based Nobilo will be trading his clubs though for his new career with a microphone, as one of the main commentators for the $1.5 million co-sanction event at Gulf Harbour Country Club, north of Auckland on 10-13 February.

He joins fellow New Zealand golfer Greg Turner and Australian Ozzie Moore as the specialist commentators at the 88th Open, which will broadcast live for 22 hours free-to-air on TV3.

Nobilo, who enjoyed 14 victories in New Zealand, Australia, Europe and the United States, last played at the Open at Middlemore in 2003. A long-standing back ailment brought a premature end to his career, and he took up broadcasting.

He joined the Golf Channel network in the United States last year, commentating mostly on the Champions Tour.

Turner returns to the TV3 commentary team for the tournament, where he has played an integral role as the player liaison, enticing many of the Europeans to play the event.

The commentary team is headed by well-known broadcaster Phillip Leishman, Australian-based Kiwi Bruce Young and TV3’s Emma Keeling will provide the on-air roving reports with TV3’s Sean Summerfield handling interviews, first tee announcements and final presentation.

The coverage is produced by the Australasian PGA Tour Productions under the guidance of executive producer and director, John Evans.

The tournament will receive 22 hours of live free-to-air coverage in New Zealand, airing on TV3 1pm until 6pm on Thursday and Friday, and 12noon to 6 pm on Saturday and Sunday.

Source – NZGA


Position Score Player Country R1 R2 R3 R4 Total
1   ↑T4 -22 Niclas Fasth Sweden 65 63 75 63 266
2 -22 Miles Tunnicliff England 67 63 70 66 266
T3 -18 Richard Green Australia 70 63 69 68 270
T3   ↑T4 -18 Simon Nash Australia 65 67 71 67 270
T5   ↑T7 -17 Peter O'malley Australia 68 70 66 67 271
T5   ↑T9 -17 Robert Karlsson Sweden 68 65 72 66 271
T7   ↑T9 -15 Damien Mcgrane Ireland 67 66 72 68 273
T7   ↑T9 -15 Jarrod Moseley Australia 66 66 73 68 273
T7   ↑T9 -15 Jose Manuel Lara Spain 66 67 72 68 273
T7   ↓1 -15 Oliver Wilson England 66 65 68 74 273
Position Score Player Country R1 R2 R3 R4 Total
Tournament Page and Full Scoreboard »

Related Articles


Special Promotions

Teetimes Specials

View All Courses »