New trophy for Australian Amateur Stroke Play

BY | Australian Mens Amateur Tour | 2006 Australian Amateur Championship | General | 21 Mar 2006
No Image

The Australian Men’s Amateur Championship gets underway at Royal Hobart and Tasmania Golf Clubs on Thursday 23 March.

Since 1959 the Australian Men’s Amateur Championship has consisted of a stroke play format to qualify players for the elimination match play component, the winner of the match play being crowned the Australian Men’s Amateur Champion.

Until this year, the leader at the completion of the stroke play component has received the Australian Medal as their perpetual trophy. In order to further recognise this achievement, the stroke play winner will now earn the title of Australian Men’s Stroke Play Champion and will gain an exemption into the 2006 MFS Australian Open to be staged at Royal Sydney Golf Club from November 16-19. The stroke play event will be played over 72 holes and a play-off will determine the winner in the event of a tie.

The Men’s Amateur boasts past winners including legendary names such as the Hon. Michael Scott, Ivo Whitton, Jim Ferrier, Doug Bachli and, more recently, Michael Campbell, Greg Chalmers and Mathew Goggin. The list of winners of the Australian Medal is no less impressive and includes, Steven Bowditch, Andrew Buckle, Stephen Leaney, Lucas Parsons and Brett Ogle.

As one of the most important tournaments on the international amateur schedule, the Men’s Amateur is a key selection event for players striving to make the Australian team for the World Amateur Team Championship to be held in South Africa in October. Leading Australians playing in this year’s event include seven players in the top 40 of the World Amateur Golf rankings – Won Joon Lee, Jason Day, Mitchell Brown, Andrew Tampion, Andrew Dodt, Rick Kulacz and Andrew Martin. An impressive line-up of international players from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Holland, Canada, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Malaysia and Korea will also contest the event.

Source – Golf Australia
Photo – Anthony Powter

Special Promotions

Teetimes Specials

View All Courses »