NZ Golf appoints world-renowned tournament director

BY | Australasian PGA Tour | 2006 New Zealand Open | General | 06 Aug 2006
No Image

New Zealand Golf has appointed leading golf events manager Rod Leembruggen as tournament director for the New Zealand Open.

Leembruggen has played a significant role in some of Australia’s most prestigious golf events during the last 18 years including the Heineken Classic from 1993-2005, the Australian PGA Championship from 2002-2004 and the Presidents Cup in 1998.

New Zealand Golf chief executive Larry Graham said he was thrilled to have someone of Rod’s calibre involved in the New Zealand Open.

“Rod is one of the leading directors of golf events in Australasia and has established an extensive network of contacts within the industry, which will be invaluable for the New Zealand Open.”

Rod Leembruggen said he was excited about the new opportunity to be involved with the New Zealand Open.

“The New Zealand Open is one of the leading events in Australasia as it is co-sanctioned with the European Tour and PGA Tour of Australasia and is part of the quadrangular of top events down under.”

“There is a great team on the ground for New Zealand Golf managing the logistics for the Open and I am looking forward to working with them and adding to the mix with my experience.”

Australian-based Leembruggen will be regularly visiting New Zealand in the coming months and will be based at Gulf Harbour Country Club full-time for a month before the event.

The 89th New Zealand Open, co-sanctioned with the Australasian and European Tours, will be staged at Gulf Harbour Country Club on the week of 27 November 2006.

New Zealand Golf will be announcing the new lead sponsor for the New Zealand Open at a special function at Gulf Harbour Country Club on Tuesday 8 August.

Source – NZGA


Position Score Player Country R1 R2 R3 R4 Total
1   ↑T39 -5 Nathan Green Australia 71 67 76 65 279
T2   ↑T8 -3 Brett Rumford Australia 71 70 69 71 281
T2   ↑T13 -3 Jarrod Moseley Australia 68 70 73 70 281
T2   ↓T1 -3 Marcus Fraser Australia 69 69 70 73 281
T2   ↑T4 -3 Michael Campbell New Zealand 71 65 73 72 281
T2   ↑T39 -3 Nick Dougherty England 69 66 79 67 281
T2   ↑T13 -3 Wade Ormsby Australia 72 63 76 70 281
T8 -2 Greg Chalmers Australia 68 70 72 72 282
T8   ↓T4 -2 Peter O'malley Australia 72 71 66 73 282
T8   ↑T13 -2 Scott Strange Australia 67 70 74 71 282
Position Score Player Country R1 R2 R3 R4 Total
Tournament Page and Full Scoreboard »

Related Articles


Special Promotions

Teetimes Specials

View All Courses »