Ninety holes four courses at Bob Hope Chrysler Classic

BY Bruce Young | US PGA Tour | 2003 Bob Hope Chrysler Classic | Preview | 26 Jan 2003
No Image

It seems hard to believe we are already nearly a month into the season 2003 and the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic comes around again.

Phil Mickelson, who won here last year after a layoff of some six months, returns to defend the title he won in a playoff over David Berganio. Other recent winners include Joe Durant, Jesper Parnevik, David Duval and Fred Couples.

The event unique in that it is played over ninety holes with the first four rounds alternated between four different courses in the La Quinta region of California.

Those courses are the Palmer Course at PGA West (host course) opened in 1987, the Bermuda Dunes course designed by Billy Bell in 1952 and remodelled by Ronald Fream in 1987, the Indian Wells C.C designed initially by Harry and David Rainville in 1956 and remodelled in 1986 by Ted Robinson and the La Quinta C.C designed in 1959 by Frank and Lawrence Hughes.

The event was first staged in 1960 as the Palm Springs Golf Classic then as the Bob Hope Desert Classic and has been known as the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic since 1986.

The cut comes after seventy-two holes at which point the remaining field returns to the host course, The Palmer Course at PGA West, for the final round. Only 128 players will start the event.

Leading players entered at this stage include Mickelson, David Toms, Chris Di Marco, David Duval, Davis Love, Justin Leonard, Charles Howell, Jerry Kelly and Scott MCarron.

Australasians entered are Aaron Baddeley, Greg Chalmers, John Senden, Rod Pampling, Geoff Ogilvy, James McLean, Grant Waite and Craig Perks with both Scott Laycock and Gavin Coles awaiting a start from the reserve bench.

The event carries prizemoney of $US4,500,000 with a first prize of $US810,000.


Position Score Player Country R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 Total
1   ↑T2 -30 Mike Weir Canada 67 64 65 67 67 330
2 -28 Jay Haas United States 67 61 67 68 69 332
T3   ↑T4 -26 Chris Dimarco United States 64 68 66 66 70 334
T3   ↓1 -26 Tim Herron United States 69 64 61 65 75 334
5   ↓T4 -24 David Gossett United States 69 67 62 66 72 336
T6   ↑T33 -23 Jonathan Kaye United States 65 71 64 70 67 337
T6   ↑T8 -23 Pat Perez United States 69 61 70 66 71 337
T6   ↑T33 -23 Phil Mickelson United States 70 68 63 69 67 337
T9   ↑T13 -22 Harrison Frazar United States 67 62 72 66 71 338
T9   ↑T20 -22 Justin Leonard United States 66 67 69 66 70 338
Position Score Player Country R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 Total
Tournament Page and Full Scoreboard »
  • 3
    About the Author: Bruce Young

    A multi-award winning golf journalist, Bruce's extensive knowledge of the game comes from several years caddying the tournament circuits of the world, marketing a successful golf course design company and as one of Australia's leading golf journalists and commentators.

    Read all of Bruce's articles »

Special Promotions

Teetimes Specials

View All Courses »