Von Nida Tour debuts with NSW PGA Championship

BY iseekgolf.com | Von Nida Tour | 2003 New South Wales PGA Championship | Preview | 12 Mar 2003
No Image

The newly-named Von Nida Tour gets underway this Friday when the Bega Cheese NSW PGA Championship tees off at the Pambula-Merimbula course on the Far South Coast of New South Wales. Nathan Green, Ken Druce, Stephen Collins, Scott Hend, Chris Downes and Scott Gardiner will be among some of the 132 professionals vying for the title.

The 72-hole tournament is the first event on the PGA’s new Von Nida Tour, which will host 10 events around Australia between January and November each year. The tour paralell’s the Nationwide Tour in the US as it used as a stepping stone between the Pro-Am circuits and the main Australasian PGA Tour. The top 10 players on the Von Nida Tour money list at the end of 2003 will gain full exemption for the 2004 Australasian PGA Tour.

Former Australian amateur representatives Adam Groom, Chris Campbell, Andrew Buckle and Ewen Porter will throw out strong challenges with Buckle already a winner at this level, taking out the Queensland Open at Ipswich last year. Other Development Tour winners in the field include Steve Collins, Scott Hend and Craig Carmichael, while David Diaz was a past winner of the Coolum Classic on the Australasian PGA Tour.

The players will compete for a total purse of AUD$100,000, with the champion collecting AUD$18,000. The first day of play will see amateurs lineup alongside the professionals for the Bega Cheese Pro-Am in a 4BBB format. The pro scores will count as the first round of their tournament. Saturdaywill see the amateurs alongside the pros in the Pambula-Merimbula Golf Club Pro-Am, with the pro scores counting as the second round of the tournament.

On Sunday the top 60 professionals plus ties will play the final 36 holes of the tournament to decide the winner of the 2003 NSW PGA Championship.

The next stop on the Von Nida Tour will be the Toyota Southern Classic at the Woolooware Golf Club in Sydney on the 20th March.

10 Qualifiers for NSW PGA
Nigel Spence (66)
Peter J Wilson (69)
Peter J Martin (70)
Shane Puckett (70)
Graham Sheppard (71)
Craig Cork (71)
Nick Dastey (71)
Stuart Loughrey (71)
Todd Morgan (71)
Peter Welden (71)

Mark Brooker
Adam Spence
Ryan Smith

Parts of article from PGA Australia

Special Promotions

Teetimes Specials

View All Courses »